LibGuides: NextGen Bar Exam: Contract Law: Reference Sources, Biographies, Special Topics

Reference Sources, Texts, & Biographies

The ABCs of the UCC Article 1 by Scott J. Burnham
ISBN: 9781614389484
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
This primer provides an introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code ("UCC" or "Code") and discusses the provisions of its first article. It is based on the 2011 Official Text of the UCC. Although subsequent articles of the Code each focus on a different type of commercial transaction, Article 1 contains the general definitions and principles that guide the Code. The provisions of Article 1 apply whether the underlying commercial transaction is a sale of goods, a lease, or a transfer of a negotiable instrument. They also apply when the transaction involves a document of title, a secured transaction, or another arrangement governed by the Code.
Mastering Negotiable Instruments (UCC Articles 3 and 4) and Other Payment Systems by Michael D. Floyd
ISBN: 9781611635195
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Mastering Negotiable Instruments (UCC Articles 3 and 4) and Other Payment Systems explain the essential concepts in the law governing payment systems. The book focuses primarily on the prototypical payment systems that, for centuries, have used negotiable instruments: notes, checks, and other types of drafts. It explores the rules and mechanisms that regulate transactions in negotiable instruments from issue to collection. The study of the rules starts with UCC Article 3 (governing negotiable instruments generally) and Article 4 (governing check collection) but also requires consideration of federal statutes such as the Expedited Funds Availability Act, the new Check Clearing for the 21st Century Act, and related federal regulations. The book also explores the largely federal law governing newer payment systems that have evolved from negotiable instruments, such as credit cards and debit cards.
Fault in American Contract Law by Omri Ben-Shahar (Editor); Ariel Porat (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521769853
Publication Date: 2010-08-16
Representing an unprecedented joint effort from top scholars in the field, this volume collects original contributions to examine the fundamental role of “fault” in contract law. Is it immoral to breach a contract? Should a breaching party be punished more harshly for willful breaches? Does it matter if the victim of the breach engaged in contributory fault? Is there room for a calculus of fault within the “efficient breach” framework? For generations, contract liability has been viewed as a no-fault regime, in sharp contrast to tort liability. Is this dichotomy real? Is it justified? How do the American and European traditions compare? In exploring these and related issues, the essays in this volume bring together a variety of outlooks, including economic, psychological, philosophical, and comparative approaches to law.
Contract Law, Flowcharts and Cases, a Visual Guide to Understanding Contracts, 4th by Frank J. Doti
ISBN: 9781634599160
Publication Date: 2016-05-06
This book contains schematic flowcharts that visually plot the rules of contract law. Also included are selected cutting edge recent cases applying the rules. The flowchart approach helps students sort out in a visual manner the trickier contract rules of law in a unique and organized fashion.

Problems and Materials on Commercial Law by Douglas J. Whaley; Stephen M. McJohn
ISBN: 9781454863342
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Clear, lucid, and extremely accessible, Problems and Materials on Commercial Law helps students understand black letter law and the statutory language in the Uniform Commercial Code. Concise yet comprehensive coverage includes the most recent case and statutory developments in all fundamental areas of Commercial Law, including sales, payment systems, and secured transactions. A sensible, flexible organization follows the order of UCC Articles 2, 3, 4, and 9, and is adaptable to many teaching styles. Drawing on experience in both teaching and writing, the authors provide thorough and practical coverage using a popular problem approach. The text s effective format, manageable length, and inclusion of the most important cases make Problems and Materials on Commercial Law concise and efficient.
Contracts by E. Allan Farnsworth; William Franklin Young; Carol Sanger
ISBN: 1587780577
Publication Date: 2006-03-16
Features authoritative discussion and notes on contract law. Traces the development of Contract Law in the English and American common law traditions. The reference includes a collection of significant cases. Selected cases include textual introductions. Also provides opportunities for discussion of attorney's ethical responsibilities and the consequences of neglecting those responsibilities.

Reminder, contractual drafting guides and tools are available on the legal databases.

Bloomberg Law Transactional Intelligence Center: See "Drafting Tools" and "Practical Guidance" for contract drafting, draft analyzer, sample agreements, sample clauses, clause search, and drafting guides.
Lexis Drafting Tools: Practical Guidance tab: Search by Practice Area for automated templates, sample clauses, and checklists.
Westlaw Sample Agreements include language, clauses, and provisions. See also Practical Law, "Resource Types" for Standard documents, clauses, and checklists.

A Manual of Style for Contract Drafting, Fifth Edition by Kenneth A Adams
ISBN: 9781639052516
Publication Date: 2023
Better contract drafting leads to fewer disputes. Fewer disputes mean happier clients. For those who draft, review, negotiate, or interpret contracts, this is an essential desk reference. This book has created a uniquely in-depth survey of the building blocks of contract language. This manual has become a vital resource throughout the legal profession in the United States and internationally. This manual's focus is on how to express contract terms in prose that is free of the archaisms, redundancies, ambiguities, and other problems that afflict traditional contract language. This manual is organized to facilitate easy reference, and it illustrates its analysis with numerous examples. Consult it to save time in drafting and negotiation and to reduce the risk of dispute.
Drafting and Analyzing Contracts by Scott J. Burnham
ISBN: 9780769848976
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Drafting and Analyzing Contracts (called Drafting Contracts in its first two editions) has three major parts: Part I is organized around the topics that are studied in the first year Contracts course. Part II teaches the skills of contract drafting. Part III teaches how to read a contract. The purpose of this book is to apply the principles of contract law to the drafting of agreements. Each chapter discusses the substance of contracts as applied to drafting and suggests language that may be employed to accomplish the purpose.
The Elements of Contract Drafting with Questions and Clauses for Consideration by George W. Kuney
ISBN: 0314144560
Publication Date: 2003-03-07
This text overviews the issues and processes of drafting contracts and other transactional documents. It is designed to enable students to analyze the basic structure of contacts and other documents and develop techniques used to create those documents with precision and clarity efficiently. Includes discussion, cases, examples, and exercises based upon real-world contracts and situations. The author is an attorney and professor with experience in the negotiation, drafting, and litigating of contract and other disputes.
Basic Contract Drafting Assignments by Sue Payne
ISBN: 9780735589254
Publication Date: 2010-11-24
Basic Contract Law for Paralegals is a clear, comprehensive, and straightforward introduction to all the basics of contract law, specifically designed for paralegal students. Lively examples and well-crafted pedagogy cover all key topics during a contract—from offer, acceptance, and consideration to discharge of obligations and remedies. The text balances coverage of case law with professional skills development and culminates with a chapter that asks students to draft a standard contract. An appendix of twelve sample contracts provides a useful ongoing reference tool.
Drafting Contracts by Tina L. Stark
ISBN: 9780735563391
Publication Date: 2007-06-07
A perfect fit for the upper-level legal drafting course. Drafting Contracts: How and Why Lawyers Do What They Do teaches the key practices of contract drafting, with particular emphasis on how to incorporate the business deal into the contract and add value to the client deal. By providing many solid examples of quality writing, the book helps students to master the basics and to incorporate similar techniques into their own drafting. This text is also appropriate for use in transactional simulation courses, clinics, first-year and advanced writing courses, contracts courses, and interviewing, negotiating, and counseling courses.

*Please be aware that these "Special Topics" are not on the NextGen Bar and are only here for informational purposes.*

*Securities Law Journals:

The Yale Law Journal Securities Law features an extensive archive of all subject matters relating to securities law. They feature one special topic during publication; however, their online database stores many articles dealing with everything related to securities and the law.
ABA Journal Securities Law is a journal that has a broad range of various articles dealing with security law. Featuring up-to-date cases, laws, and news, this journal will help you better understand the complexities of this type of law in a context made for lawyers.

Business and Commercial Litigation in Federal Courts by Robert L. Haig (Editor); American Bar Association Staff
Call Number: KF 889 .B826 1998
ISBN: 0314231811
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
An extensive guide on business and commercial litigations in federal courts within the United States.
Sales Law by Clayton P. Gillette; Steven D. Walt
ISBN: 1587784475
Publication Date: 2002-06-04
Authoritative coverage describes and analyzes the law of sales under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as under the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. The text provides the framework for sales and governing law, contract formation, implied terms, formal requirements, performance, and risk of loss. Also covers remedies, the rights to goods, and documentary sales.
International Business Transactions by Daniel C. K. Chow; Thomas J. Schoenbaum
ISBN: 9781543801040
Publication Date: 2020-02-02
Focusing on private international business transactions, International Business Transactions: Problems, Cases, and Materials, Fourth Edition covers the planning, structure, and implementation of transactions in today’s global economy.
Black Letter Outline on Secured Transactions by Linda J. Rusch
ISBN: 9780314275752
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
This text places the law of secured transactions within the context of debt collection. The book comprehensively explains the scope of UCC Article 9, including its exclusions, provides an in-depth description of the Article 9 rules regarding attachment, perfection, and enforcement of security interests and agricultural lines, and contains many examples.