LibGuides: NextGen Bar Exam: Contract Law: Databases

Library Databases

Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window, sign-in required.

Westlaw Precision provides access to primary and secondary materials from the Federal and State levels of government.

Useful tools on Westlaw:

Review the Contracts Law Course Study Collection for Practical Law "Practice Notes" on contract terms, contract performance, non-performance, third party and alternative performance, and contract drafting.
Drafting Tools: Westlaw Sample Agreements include language, clauses, and provisions. See also Practical Law, "Resource Types" for Standard documents, clauses, and checklists.

See Westlaw's Practice areas:

Use the Practice Area tab on Westlaw to access the Commercial Law materials. After selecting Practice Area, choose Commercial Law. This will bring you to a page with Content-Type. You'll find Secondary Sources, such as journal articles and treatises, trial court documents, expert materials, forms, proposed, enacted, and adopted legislation and regulation, and criminal justice news, among many other items.

Looking for something more specific? Refine your search through an "advanced search" located at the top of Westlaw's Precision tool.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window, sign-in required.

Lexis+ provides access to primary and secondary materials from the Federal and State levels of government.

Useful tools on Lexis+:

Law School Resources- Contracts. Provides outlines, selected case briefs, recommended books, cases, statutes, news, and selected key topics explanations.
Drafting tools - Practical Guidance tab: Search by Practice Area for automated templates, sample clauses, and checklists.

Use the Practice Area tab on Lexis to access Contracts Law. (This page also contains Commercial Law (UCC). Choose the appropriate topic needed.). You'll find cases, statutes & legislation, administrative materials & regulations, case-related materials, secondary materials, forms, and news & reference.

Click Contracts Law--Browse Topics on the right to refine your search for specialized topics.

Looking for something more specific? Go to the top of the page and look for Advanced Search. Follow prompts to help focus your search.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window, sign-in required.

In addition to providing access to state and federal sources of law, this database also provides access to a large variety of forms.

Useful tools on Bloomberg:

Primary law source for statutes, cases & dockets, regulations, and constitutions.
Go to the Transactional pull-down menu at the top of the screen under the search bar. Find Commercial Law Practice page.
Under Commercial Law, you will find federal laws and rules, state criminal codes, dockets and opinions, practical guides, data and reports, news and analysis, trackers, and related practice areas, including a section on the UCC.
Transactional Intelligence Center: See "Drafting Tools" and "Practical Guidance" for contract drafting, draft analyzer, sample agreements, sample clauses, clause search, and drafting guides.

Looking for something more specific? Go to the search bar at the top and change the search by the pull-down menu to "all content" and type your specific inquiry into the search bar or hover over the pull-down menu on each of the main topics listed to find what you are looking for.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window, sign-in required.

Excellent source for the full text of numerous law journals, international sources, federal primary source material, and other specialized research topics.

Useful tools on HeinOnline:

Full-text, complete law journal collections
Source for Primary law materials and congressional documents.
The "Cite" button helps with bluebook citation accuracy
The "More like this" button helps target relevant search results.

PLI Plus This link opens in a new window, sign-in required.

PLI PLUS is an online library and research platform providing practice-focused expert analysis for attorneys and legal professionals.

After going to the PLI Plus page, use the Browse pull pull-down at the top of the page. Choose Practice Area. Then choose Commercial Law. Under this choice, you can then narrow down your search by refining the topic you are looking for and the source you need.