LibGuides: NextGen Bar Exam: Constitutional Law: Treatises & Study Aids

Library Resources

Westlaw and Lexis each have entirely different sets of treatises and texts focusing many specialized topics. When possible, it's best to explore resources available in both platforms rather than just those in one. The links below include treatises available from Westlaw and Lexis.

Westlaw Texts & Treatises: Constitutional Law. Contains titles pertaining to these areas and more: Anti-SLAPP Litigation, Education Law, Religious Organizations, Search And Seizure, and Freedom of Speech.
Lexis Texts & Guides: Constitutional Law. Select your area of focus to research, be it Secondary Sources, Statutes or Administrative Material.

Specialized Treatises and Texts:

You can browse the print Constitutional Law collection at call numbers KF 4501 thru 5130 in the law library. Some print books are also available as Ebooks, on our databases, where noted. Below are some selected resources, for more specialized topics, please consult a law librarian.

American Constitutionalism: Volume I: Structures of Government by Howard Gillman; Mark A. Graber; Keith E. Whittington
Call Number: KF 4541 .G55 2013
ISBN: 9780199751266
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
This book covers all important U.S. constitutionalism debates organized by historical era. It also incorporates readings from all of the prominent participants in those debates, and clearly lays out the political and legal contexts in chapter introductions.
Constitutional Interpretation: The Basic Questions by Sotirios A. Barber; James E. Fleming
Call Number: KF 4552 .B36 2007
ISBN: 9780195328585
Publication Date: 2007-07-05
Provides an overview of the various approaches for constitutional interpretation.
Corwin on the Constitution by Edward S. Corwin; Richard Loss (Editor)
Call Number: KF 4541 .A2 C67 1981
ISBN: 9780801413810
Publication Date: 1981-01-31
Edward Samuel Corwin was an American legal scholar who served as the American Political Science Association president. His various political writings in the early to mid-twentieth century micro cosmically depict the rising activist thinking in various areas of American constitutional law. This book details a greater in-depth knowledge of the subject matter, explaining in detail the intricacies of constitutional law.
The Heritage Guide to the Constitution by David F. Forte (Editor); Matthew Spalding (Editor); Edwin Meese III (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF 4527 .H47 2014
ISBN: 9781621572688
Publication Date: 2014-09-15
A landmark work of more than one hundred scholars, The Heritage Guide to the Constitution is a unique line-by-line analysis explaining every clause of America's founding charter and its contemporary meaning.

The print study aids are located at the Circulation Desk. You can check out 2 Study Aids at a time for 3 days. Study aids are also available online. On the library database page, under the "Study Aids" heading, click on Aspen Learning Library or West Academic.

Aspen Learning Library study aids are available in print or online through the Sol Blatt, Jr. Law Library. Aspen study aids include Emanuel Law Outlines and CrunchTime, Examples & Explanations, Glannon Guides, and In Other Words audio and video series.

Carolina Academic Press study aids are available in print and include the Understanding series, Starting Off Right series, and Context and Practice casebooks.

West Academic study aids include Short & Happy Guides, Acing series, Exam Pro series, Nutshell series, Black Letter outlines, and Law School Legends audio lectures

Aspen Learning Library and West Academic study aids are also available 24/7 thru the Law Library's database page. On the database page, scroll down to the Study Aids heading. Click on the link for whichever collection you would like to access. It is not necessary to create an account to use the study aids. If you would like to save titles for easy retrieval or read offline, then you can create an account.

We suggest trying a few different study aids to find the best fit for your needs and learning style. Here are a few suggested study aids:

Constitutional Law by Christopher N. May; Allan Ides; Simona Grossi
Call Number: Study Aids KF 4550 .M29 2013
ISBN: 9781454864226
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
A favorite among successful students and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.
Constitutional Law by Dan T. Coenen
Call Number: Study Aids KF 4606 .C64 2004
ISBN: 1587785072
Publication Date: 2003-12-03
Professor Coenen’s treatment of the Commerce Clause broadly explores the division of powers between federal and state lawmaking authorities and considers alternative sources of federal power, particularly under the Taxing and Spending Clauses, as well as constitutionally inspired rules of statutory interpretation crafted by the Court to protect federalism values.
Constitutional Law--Individual Rights by Allan Ides; Christopher N. May
Call Number: Study Aids KF 4749 .I34 2013
ISBN: 9781454805236
Publication Date: 2013
This problem-oriented study guide provides students with a readable and accessible study of constitutional law. See also companion volume A, E&E for Constitutional Law National Power & Federalism.
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by Jerome A. Barron
Call Number: Study Aids KF 4550 .B35 2017
ISBN: 9781634596237
Publication Date: 2017
In a Nutshell, the 9th edition of Constitutional Law summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803) to the present. This edition features some new and controversial cases. The objective is to summarize the essence of major Court decisions, concisely and clearly.
Liaf by Steven Emanuel
Call Number: Study Aids KF 3154 .E4 2018
ISBN: 9780735598027
Publication Date: 2018
Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side.
Understanding the First Amendment by Russell L. Weaver
Call Number: Study Aids KF 4770 .W43 2020
ISBN: 9781531001247
Publication Date: 2020
Understanding The First Amendment focuses upon core subject matter that is likely to be tested in a law school examination or on the bar examination. The book also provides tools that enable students to organize the course and their understanding to enhance retention. The beginning of each chapter highlights key points of coverage. The end of each chapter indicates essential points to remember.

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts a library of tutorials, quizzes, podcasts, and ebooks. You have free and unlimited access.

You can access CALI on the library's database page, under "Legal Resources."
The first time you visit, you will need to register an account. Register at https://www.cali.org/ To do so, click on the “Register” option at the top right corner of the CALI homepage. Fill out the registration form, and enter the authorization code in the appropriate box. The student authorization code is CHARSLstu312 (case sensitive).

Listed below are CALI lessons you may find helpful. Click the link, or go to the CALI website and log- in with your CSOL email and your CALI password.

CALI has four webpages of Constitutional Law lessons. You can browse the lessons. You can also review the Constitutional Law Outline for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying for suggestions for related CALI lessons. Sample lessons are listed below, be sure to check for other lessons that may fit your study needs.

Constitutional Law by Erwin Chemerinsky
Call Number: KF 4550 .C429 2020 (Course Reserves)
ISBN: 9781543813074
Publication Date: 2020
Constitutional Law: Cases in Context places primary emphasis on how constitutional law has developed since the Founding, its key foundational principles, and recurring debates. Providing both cases and context conveys the competing narratives that all lawyers ought to know. Cases are supplemented with background readings from various sources. Study guide questions presented before each case help students focus on the salient issues, challenging them to consider the court’s opinions from various perspectives and suggesting comparisons or connections with other cases.
Constitutional Law by Gregory Maggs; Peter Smith
Call Number: KF 4550 .M22 2021
ISBN: 9781684675715
Publication Date: 2020-12-21
The authors have provided extensive excerpts of the opinions so that students get a good sense of the Court’s reasoning. Text boxes call the students' attention to important aspects of each opinion, and the book is filled with introductions, points for discussion, hypotheticals, and executive summaries. The authors present a diversity of views on every subject and have written point-counterpoint discussions on many disputed questions.
Constitutional Law by Robyn Scheina Brown; Kelly A. Koermer
Call Number: KF 4550 .B75 2011
ISBN: 9780735588622
Publication Date: 2010-08-13
Constitutional Law: Laying Down the Law is an accessible, hands-on workbook for courses on constitutional law.

PLI Plus This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an online library and research platform providing practice-focused expert analysis for attorneys and legal professionals.

Listed below are selected materials from PLI that you may find helpful. Click on the link above, go to the PLI website, and log in with your PLI information.

Next, click Browse and refine your search by clicking "Practice Area."

In the menu, you will see a list of various practice areas, click Constitutional Law.

In the menu, you will see a list of various PLI publications and formats. You can browse the list or select the format. Listed below are sample publications.