ABA Journal is available for the iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Droid devices. It features breaking legal news and articles featured in the print and online versions of the journal.

Download from the iTunes App Store or Google Play 

The American Lawyer, the nation's leading monthly legal magazine, is filled with award-winning feature articles and columns on all aspects of big law, from management to deals and suits to technology. This app delivers it instantly to your iOS or Droid device.

Download from Google Play 

Bloomberg brings business and financial news as well as market data and stock tracking tools to your iOS or Droid device. Its informative charts and graphs illustrate the impact of important business trends and issues.

Download from the iTunes App Store

The NPR News app is available for iOS and Droid devices. You can follow local and national news, listen to your favorite NPR programs at a time of your choosing, and find NPR frequencies when you travel.

Download from the iTunes App Store (here for iPad version) or Google Play 

Though the app is free, the ability to read the full text of the New York Times will cost you a healthy $105 per year.

Download from the iTunes App Store or Google Play 

The Reuters News app delivers breaking news, analysis and market data, from the highly respected Reuters news.

Download from iTunes App Store or Google Play.

App  

Cost

Description of the App          

FREE    

Congress is a Droid app from the Sunlight Foundation which lets you find your elected representatives, track their votes, search for bills, and stay informed about floor activity and committee hearings.

Download from the Google Play Store.

$4.99

Congress+ is similar to the Droid app immediately above, but is made for iOS and is not free.

Download from the iTunes App Store.
 

FREE

The Congressional Record app, from the Library of Congress, lets you read the daily edition of the Congressional Record or browse that publication as far back as January 1, 1995, on you iOS device.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

LawStack has the Federal Rules and other applicable Federal and State Code sections as well as the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Evidence. 

Download from the App Store here and the Google Play Store here.

FREE

FREE  

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure app, from Tekk Innovations,
contains the complete text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure from
the appendix of Title 28 of the U.S. Code. No internet access needed,
and full text searching.         

Download from the iTunes App Store .

FREE

The Federal Rules of Evidence app. from Tekk Innovations, contains the complete text of the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

LawStack, an iOS app, wants to be the "law library in your pocket." When downloaded, it comes with the US Constitution and the Federal Rules of: Appellate Procedure; Bankruptcy Procedure; Civil Procedure; Criminal Procedure; and Evidence. Other databases, including state codes, can be downloaded in-app. South Carolina's code is not available.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary is a good alternative to Black's Law Dictionary app, which costs more than $50. The Nolo Dictionary is free for use in iOS devices, while the Droid version costs $16.19.

Download from the iTunes App Store or Google Play

The Rulebook app provides access to federal and state court rules, offering full text searching of the user's in-app purchased court rules and links to other relevant rules.Also available as an in-app purchase (for $39.99) is The Bluebook.

Download from the iTunes App Store. 

FREE

Section 18 U.S.C. - Crimes and Criminal Procedure, from LawStack.

Download from iTunes App Store.

This PushLegal app provides access to statutes, court rules and annotated case law. When the user pulls up a statute, the Statutes and Case Law Library app instantly pairs annotated case law with that statute.

PushLegal currently offers their library of materials free for law students.

Download from iTunes App Store 

FREE

The United States Constitution, for Droid Devices, allows searching
of the text and comes with various other historic documents, such as
the Articles of Confederation, the Declaration of Independence, and the
Gettysburg Address.

Casemaker, provided free to law students and professors, now has an app for Droid and iOS devices. Click on mobile application while logged in to Casemaker. Complete the form that comes up, and you will receive a "reference code". When you have installed the application, it will ask you for the reference code, which activates the app.

Download from the  iTunes App Store or the Google Play Store.   

The Fastcase app, for Droid or iOS, contains federal and state cases and statutes. You can search by citation, keyword (in Boolean or natural language), or browse statute collections.

Download from the iTunes App Store or from Google Play 

HeinOnline's app lets you search all of its comprehensive databases, from the Law Journal Library to World Constitutions Illustrated, right from your iOS device. What's more, you can email or print your results. While the app is free, IP authentication is required.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

The Lexis app, only for iOS provides subscribers to full access to the Lexis database, as well as full Shepard's functionality. Searches return results equivalent to those of computer-based searches, and can be emailed or put in folders for later access.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

The WestlawNext app for iOS or Droid provides WestlawNext subscribers with full access to the Westlaw database, as well as KeyCite functionality. Searches generate links to cases, statutes, and relevant secondary sources. Highlight text in opinions and add your own notes, email the document or save it to a folder or offline.

Download from the iTunes App Store 

LexisNexis CourtLink, an iOS app, allows you to follow docket activity. You can set up alerts to monitor a specific case, to be informed of newly filed cases ina particular practice area, or to learn of newly filed cases involving specific parties.

Download app from the iTunes App Store. Must be a subscriber to CourtLink to use the app.

Install the Agile Law app on your tablet, hand the tablet to the deponent, and navigate through the deposition without ever using a printed exhibit again.

Go to Google Play to download. Account required to use.

The Courtroom Objections Quick Reference Guide for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad offers a quick guide to making and meeting objections in court, providing a list of common objections and responses. It is based on the Federal Rules of Evidence and Texas Rules of Evidence.

Download from the iTunes App Store.

MobileTranscript enables attorneys to read deposition transcripts formatted for their devices. Transcripts are uploaded by attorneys' court reporters to the Mobile Transcript website, which in turn downloads the transcripts to the attorneys' devices (court reporters must hold a subscription with Mobile Transcript to be able to upload transcripts). The app allows attorneys to highlight and flag text. It is available for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad devices, as well as Blackberry devices.

Download from the  iTunes App Store or, for the version optimized for iPad, here. The app for Blackberry smartphones may be downloaded from the Mobile Transcript website.

The complete 21 U.S. Code - Food and Drugs

Find it at the iTunes App Store.

SCOTUS Blog has breaking Supreme Court news and commentary with SCOTUSblog's online coverage. Also provides information through statistics, video resources and polls. 

Download from the iTunes App Store Here. 

Oyez covers the same information as the Oyez website, including abstracts of SCOTUS's constitutional decisions and audio files of its public sessions held from October 1955 through 2012. 

Download from the iTunes App Store. The android app is due to be updated.