Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) is a useful index to find recently published articles by topic. These weekly lists, published on HeinOnline, are also useful for your preemption checking. Access CILP either from the Library database page, either under the "Indexes" heading, or click on HeinOnline, under the "Legal Research Resources" heading, then on Hein's database page, select CILP. The Electronic CILP download page lists the weekly issues.
On the CILP page, you can download lists either as PDF or Word documents. You can search the "CILP Archives" thru 1936. You can also create an alert on the "Create New SmartCILP User" tab with your CSOL email address. You'll be alerted to new articles by selected topics, subjects, and journals. This is a very useful tool for preemption checking, especially if your article topic is very topical or current.
The first image shows a snippet of the "CILP Download" page. The second image shows a portion of the weekly CILP list.
Sample list showing Journals, topics, and articles:
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in 800+ legal journals published worldwide. the IFLP covers public & private international law, comparative, and foreign law.
IFLP is a useful index to find recently published articles by topic. This index, published on HeinOnline, is also useful for your preemption checking. Access IFLP either from the Library database page, either under the "Indexes" heading, or click on HeinOnline, under the "Legal Research Resources" heading, then on Hein's database page, select Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals.
On the IFLP page, you can search by several fields, including keyword, author, subject, country subject, and region. The "IFLP Alerts" tab page lists the monthly PDF issues. You can also search the IFLP print edition thru 1960. You can also create an alert on the "Create New IFLP Alert User" tab with your CSOL email address. You'll be alerted to new articles by selected topics, subjects, and journals. This is a very useful tool for preemption checking, especially if your article topic is very topical or current.
The first image shows the IFLP Advanced Search page. The second image shows a snippet of a monthly alert.
The second image is a sample from a monthly alert list:
Access LegalTrac from the library database page, under the "Indexes" heading. Coverage includes 875+ multidisciplinary journals, since 1980. You have several search options with LegalTrac. You can search by subject, publication or use the Topic Finder tool. Options include a date filter, searching within a specific publication title, and searching for full-text articles and/or peer-reviewed articles. The Topic Finder is especially useful if you are not sure of descriptive keywords for your topic, and if you are trying to narrow your topic to subjects within a broader term. The first image below used the broad term, "voting rights." You'll see all the narrower topics contained in that first search term in discrete topic clusters.
Clicking on one of the narrower topic clusters will show you more topics within that cluster, as well as a documents and article result list.
The image below shows the linked articles and documents returned from clicking on the "Equal Protection" tile, located top right corner. Select your article(s) from the list on the right and you can read the full-text article. You can click even deeper within that individual tile for more specific results.
