LibGuides: NextGen Bar Exam: Business Associations & Relationships: Treatises & Study Aids

Library Resources

Westlaw and Lexis each have entirely different sets of treatises and texts focusing many specialized topics. When possible, it's best to explore resources available in both platforms rather than just those in one. The links below include treatises available from Westlaw and Lexis.

Selected Texts and Treatises:

You can browse the print Business Organizations collection at call numbers KF 1404 thru 1422 in the law library. Some print books are also available on our databases as eBooks, where noted. Below are some selected resources. Please consult a law librarian for more specialized topics.

Business Associations, Cases and Materials on Agency, Partnerships, and Corporations by William A. Klein; J. Mark Ramseyer
ISBN: 9781599414980

Publication Date: 2009-03-06

Includes agency & partnership, LLCs.
Corporate Law by Robert Charles Clark
Call Number: KF 1414 j.C5 1986

ISBN: 0316144940

Publication Date: 1986-06-01

Intended as basic coursebook on corporations, covers structure, creditors, voting systems, shareholder suits, & close corporations.
Cox and Eisenberg's Business Organizations, Cases and Materials, Unabridged, 12th by Melvin Eisenberg
Call Number: KF 1414 .E374 2019

ISBN: 9781640204546

Publication Date: 2019-03-18

Detailed information on corporate law and covers new principal cases, text, and explanatory materials designed to illustrate the development of corporate law

The print study aids are located at the Circulation Desk. You can check out 2 Study Aids at a time for 3 days. Study aids are also available online. On the library database page, under the "Study Aids" heading, click on Aspen Learning Library or West Academic.

Aspen Learning Library study aids are available in print or online through the Sol Blatt, Jr. Law Library. Aspen study aids include Emanuel Law Outlines and CrunchTime, Examples & Explanations, Glannon Guides, and In Other Words audio and video series.

Carolina Academic Press study aids are available in print and include the Understanding series, Starting Off Right series, and Context and Practice casebooks.

West Academic study aids include Short & Happy Guides, Acing series, Exam Pro series, Nutshell series, Black Letter outlines, and Law School Legends audio lectures

Aspen Learning Library and West Academic study aids are also available 24/7 thru the Law Library's database page. On the database page, scroll down to the Study Aids heading. Choose the link for whichever collection you would like to access. It is not necessary to create an account to use the study aids. If you would like to save titles for easy retrieval or read offline, then you can create an account.

We suggest trying a few different study aids to find the best fit for your needs and learning style. Here are a few suggested study aids:

Agency, Partnership, and the LLC in a Nutshell by J. Hynes; Mark Loewenstein
Call Number: Study Aids KF 1375 .Z9 H95 2012

ISBN: 9781684674619

Publication Date: 2019-12-05

Print and West Academic online collection. Explains the law of agency, partnership, and limited liability companies, and includes numerous references to the Restatement of the Law Third–Agency and the most recent versions of the partnership and LLC statutes.
Examples and Explanations for Agency, Partnerships, and LLCs by Daniel S. Kleinberger
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library online collection

ISBN: 9781454892557

Publication Date: 2017-08-04

E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Examples and Explanations for Corporations by Alan R. Palmiter
Call Number: Study Aids KF 1414.85 .P35 2015

ISBN: 9781543819984

Publication Date: 2020-12-12

Print and online Aspen Learning Library. Coverage of the law of business organizations, beginning with agency and partnership law and focusing on corporations. Test your understanding of concepts and practice applying the law to real-life fact patterns
Principles of Business Organizations by Richard D. Freer; Douglas K. Moll
Call Number: Study Aids KF 1355 .F74 2013

ISBN: 9781634607612

Publication Date: 2018-03-21

Print and online West Academic collection. Provides a solid grounding in the law of agency, general partnerships, corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies.
Understanding Corporate Law by Arthur Pinto; James Fanto
ISBN: 9781531027261

Publication Date: 2023-07-01

Print. Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases, statutory provisions, and jurisprudence used in the study of corporations. It includes major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature.

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) hosts a library of tutorials, quizzes, podcasts, and ebooks. You have free and unlimited access.

You can access CALI on the library's database page, under "Legal Resources."
The first time you visit, you will need to register an account. Register at https://www.cali.org/ To do so, click on the “Register” option at the top right corner of the CALI homepage. Fill out the registration form, and enter the authorization code in the appropriate box. The student authorization code is CHARSLstu312 (case sensitive).

Listed below are CALI lessons you may find helpful. Click the link, or go to the CALI website and log- in with your CSOL email and your CALI password.

There are approximately 45 CALI lessons covering Business Associations: https://cali.org/category/2l-3l-upper-level-lesson-topics/business-associations

The Business Associations & Corporations Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons.

A few sample titles include:

Are You My Partner? Is This a Partnership?

Liability of Agent to Third Parties: On the Contract and Warranty of Authority

Mechanics of Incorporation and Defective Incorporation

Piercing the Corporate Veil

Business Organizations Law by James Cox; Thomas Hazen
Call Number: West Academic Online collection

ISBN: 9781642424010

Publication Date: 2020-03-16

Clear, succinct, descriptions of the reasoning and policy issues underlying corporate law that is accessible to law students with no business or economic background. The 2020 edition is thoroughly updated to include recent U.S. Supreme Court, Delaware and other leading decisions and regulatory developments
The Law of Agency and Partnership by William A. Gregory
Call Number: West Academic Online collection

ISBN: 9780314238580

Publication Date: 2001-05-01

Explains basics essential of agency and partnership law, including recent developments, specifically The Revised Uniform Partnership Act (RUPA), LLP, LLLP, LLC and statutory liabilities, especially sexual harassment.
Agency, Partnerships and LLCs by Stephen Bainbridge
Call Number: West Academic online collection

ISBN: 9781647085735

Publication Date: 2023-11-20

The text incorporates frequent references to the Restatement (Third) of Agency, the Uniform Partnership Act, and the Uniform Limited Liability Company Act, and the Delaware Limited Liability Company Act.

PLI Plus
PLI PLUS is an online library and research platform providing practice-focused expert analysis for attorneys and legal professionals.

Listed below are selected materials from PLI.

Corporate Legal departments: Practicing Law in a Corporation (4th ed.)
Practice Area(s): Corporate law, Ethics and professional responsibility, In-house counsel (Ethics and professional responsibility),Professional conduct
Running Legal Like a Business: The Fundamentals of Legal Operations for Law Departments
Practice Area(s): Legal innovation, Legal operations, Legal technology, Technology